This regiment was formed in October 1959 by amalgamating The Queen’s Royal Regiment (West Surrey) and The East Surrey Regiment. These dated back to 1661 and 1702 respectively.
The merger followed defence cuts reducing the number of British Army infantry regiments.
The new unit immediately became part of the recently established Home Counties Brigade.
After a spell of home service, the regiment garrisoned Aden during 1961, before moving to Hong Kong the following year.
In 1964, it deployed to West Germany with the British Army of the Rhine.
In 1966, further defence reductions in the size of the infantry saw the regiment merged with the other units of the Home Counties Brigade.
It was merged with The Queen’s Own Buffs, The Royal Sussex Regiment and The Middlesex Regiment (Duke of Cambridge's Own), to form The Queen’s Regiment.
The National Army Museum works with a network of Regimental and Corps Museums across the UK to help preserve and share the history and traditions of the Army and its soldiers.
Discover more about The Queen's Royal Surrey Regiment by visiting Surrey History Centre in Woking.Surrey History Centre