This unit was formed as The Welsh Regiment in 1881 by merging the 41st (Welch) Regiment of Foot and the 69th (South Lincolnshire) Regiment of Foot. Originally named The Welsh Regiment, it changed to the archaic spelling of 'Welch' in the 1920s.
General Sir Herbert Kitchener praised the regiment after the Battle of Suakin in Egypt in 1888 because they didn't lose a single man during the fight.
During the First World War the regiment raised a total of 34 regular, territorial, reserve and service battalions. These fought at Gallipoli, Salonika, Egypt, Palestine and Mesopotamia as well as on the Western Front.
Tasker Watkins VC served with the regiment in the Second World War. He was president of the Welsh Rugby Union from 1993 to 2004. During this time, his Victoria Cross (VC) citation was often displayed in the changing rooms of the Welsh national team prior to matches.
The regiment merged with The South Wales Borderers in 1969 to form The Royal Regiment of Wales (24th/41st Foot).
The National Army Museum works together with Regimental and Corps Museums across the country to help provide a network of military museums for everyone to visit and enjoy.
Explore the history and collections of Welch Regiment by visiting the Regimental Museum of the Royal Welsh and Firing Line: Cardiff Castle Museum of the Welsh Soldier.Regimental Museum of the Royal Welsh Firing Line