In 1685 various troops of horse were raised to defend King James II against the Monmouth Rebellion. Later that year, several of these were merged to form a single cavalry regiment. This was eventually ranked as the 5th Dragoon Guards in 1788.
Fit for a Princess:
In 1804 the regiment was named after Princess Charlotte, the only child of the future King George IV.
Robert Baden-Powell, founder of the Scout Movement, was the regiment's commander in 1897-99.
Down on the farm:
The regiment was nicknamed the 'Old Farmers' as they spent so long in Ireland between 1698 and 1715 that some of its soldiers bought land and began to farm it.
In 1922 it merged with The Iniskillings (6th Dragoons) to form the 5th/6th Dragoons. In 1927 this became the 5th Inniskilling Dragoon Guards, later gaining a 'Royal' prefix in 1935. In 1992, that regiment was amalgamated with the 4th/7th Royal Dragoon Guards to form The Royal Dragoon Guards.
The National Army Museum works together with Regimental and Corps Museums across the country to help provide a network of military museums for everyone to visit and enjoy.
Explore the history and collections of the 5th Dragoon Guards by visiting The Royal Dragoon Guards Museum.